• Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 43 other followers

  • Top Posts

Life gets in the way of blogging.

Or is it the other way around? Maybe it’s more of a chicken-and-egg situation where asking the question matters more than finding the answer. At any rate, life has become a mad, mad rush lately, consisting mostly of long work hours during the week (translation: I stare at a computer all day and can’t do it for onemoresecond when I get home) and blowing this popsicle stand on the weekend (concerts, out-of-town trips, whatever else I can think of to get away). That leaves much less time for blogging than I anticipated. Which leads to guilt. Does anyone else feel that, the guilt associated with living life instead of writing blog posts? It’s crazy and irrational and Betty White would call me a loser for saying that, but it’s the truth. I blame technology for this. It forces us to attach guilt to everything: Netflix guilt, Facebook guilt, blog guilt.

But for all that moaning what I’m really trying to say is that I know the posts have been very scarce and I hope come November the workload will lift a little and I can get back to posting several times a week. In the meantime, I promise that I am still here, I am still alive and I am still watching movies. It just takes me about three weeks longer to write about them now.

8 Responses

  1. Trust me Mer…you are really not alone on this. Life has been hitting me pretty hard too and that guilt you feel is certainly justified. But live your life and blog because you want to, not because you have to. We’ll wait patiently for you whenever you get some free time:P

    Thanks for the exposition…and here I thought you got the “Best Blog” title and then retired with it:)

  2. Ahaha Darren, I still can’t believe you didn’t get the Most Prolific Award at LAMB. Even while you say that, you are still easily outproducing the vast majority of movie bloggers out there so don’t feel any guilt! I’m sure you will get more free time eventually down the road 🙂

  3. I completely get you, Mer. I do miss your posting, but I’m having a rough time balancing the two – so I can understand.

  4. Same here. That’s why it’s a good idea to have a blogging partner. 🙂

  5. Ditto. I used to feel guilty about my lack of blogging while I was in my final semester at uni. But now that I’m attempting to find a grown up job I spend more time blogging in order to increase my exposure as a writer and feel guilty about not having a real life! What can I say, I’m hard to please

  6. Most of your writing has more depth than any post I write in a week so quality definitely trumps quantity.

  7. Unless you’re living off your blog, you should never feel more responsible to it than to your life. I endeavor to get as many entries in as I can in a month, and I always fall short of where I’d like to be– but I never worry about it. And neither should you! Tend to your life and we’ll see you in November!

Leave a Reply

