Swing-o-things

Ah, it’s good to be back. How nice it is that the Internet is right where I left it!

M. Carter @ the Movies has been derailed briefly by a death in the family (Granny Emo, life’s going to be leaps and bounds less colorful without you around) and accompanying family get-togethers, but I hope to start back reviewing in the next few days. And this reviewer’s dance card is mighty full: “Shutter Island” (imperfect but I loved it anyway); “Set It Off”; “Julia”; “Onibaba”; “A Serious Man”; and more.

The only good thing about being away from movie films for any length of time? Separation just made my heart grow fonder for them.

17 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear about your loss 😦 . Looking forward to your upcoming reviews. I’m personally going to finally get the chance to see Shutter Island tonight.

  2. Hate to hear it, M. My Grandfather was rushed to the hospital the night I put our post up. He needs emergency surgery and we are all very worried. I can relate to what you’re going through and hope you’re doing OK!!!

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the death in the family. Take as much time as you like.

  4. My deepest condolences, M. No worries, your readers will patiently wait for your reviews… Shutter Island in particular. I get the feeling you’d still like it despite the flaws.

  5. Sorry to hear about it M. My own grandma isn’t well right now so I can relate…it’s a strange time, and certainly one where things like blogging take a back seat.

    Be sure to take it easy and do know that we missed ya around here.

    • You know what’s funny? That somehow people you’ve never met can be just as comforting (or moreso) that the ones I see every day!

      Thanks for the well wishes, MH and everyone.

  6. Sorry to hear about your Granny. I saw Shutter Island over the weekend too!

  7. Welcome back and sorry to here about your Gran.

  8. Sorry to hear about your loss 😦 but it’s great to have you back!

  9. Carter, sorry to hear about your granny
    Kai and Hatter, hope your grandad and granny get better soon

  10. My condolences to you.

    I am lookin’ forward to what you have to say about “A Serious Man.” I am still scrathing my head about it as a whole.

    • Snapped it up at the Movie Gallery nearby. Did you watch any of the extras? There’s a glossary of Jewish terms — called “For Goys,” I think — on there that proved very helpful to irreligious me.

      • Did not watch the extras. I’m a busy man and cannot get myself interested in the stuff that the studios add to the DVDs in an attempt to justify their high costs. I am worn out by all those “Making of” films that take so much of the MAGIC out of the movies.

        Sorry, fell off my soap box.

        I will probably find myself watching it again, as long as I can get the time, because the Mrs. has already told me she has NO desire to see it again.

        Here is a question for you. What do you think is the best SPECIAL FEATURE you ever found on a DVD?

        I now have two. First is the newest “Movie Within A Movie provided for “Ingourious Basterds” where the other is the addition of “Frankenweenie” and “Vincent” to “Nightmare Before Christmas” .

      • In truth I almost never watch the extras, but someone who’d seen “A Serious Man” already told me the Guide for Goys would prove useful.

        I’m not sure this qualifies as the “best” special feature, but I quite like outtakes and deleted scenes. The reel from Steve Carell’s nipple waxing scene in “40-Year-Old Virgin” still kills me.

  11. I know this question was posed to M. but I had to comment… I don’t like “Makings ofs” either. Although I saw a great one on Avatar (I’m sure it will be on the DVD). It was cool because I had never seen these techniques being used. Personally, I love a good old fashioned Gag Reel… the best are 40 Year Old Virgin and Spiderman 2… hilarious!!!

Leave a Reply

