A smart verdict on “Twilight”

Erin Meanley, a freelancer for Shine on Yahoo!, is a very smart woman. How do I know this? She shares my intense dislike for the unrealistic, moony and “evil and brainwashy” — her words, and what fine words they are — relationship between Bella and Edward in “Twilight.” So much does she dislike this torrid affair, in fact, that she’s dreamed up “4 Reasons Why ‘Twilight’ Is Bad for Your Love Life.”

And because I am the founding member of the Society for ‘Twilight’ Haters, I implore you to read it.

3 Responses

  1. Ooh we’re talking about Twilight.. well.. I’ve read the article and I agree with some points even if I’m a fan of the saga. I don’t really like Bella’s character because yes… she’s “brainwashed” and “totally unrealistic” but at the same time the ideal of eternal love it’s quite alluring for a teenager even if it’s quite unrealistic and we (teenagers and… I’m included) know it. I was wondering why I love this book/movie (well… I prefer the book) but the only answer I can find is that Stephenie Meyer built a “perfect vampire-boyfriend” and women are basically romantic and then… vampires are charming! *lol*

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one … I’d have no problem with the series if Bella wasn’t such a whiny, boring wet rag! How about a little backbone, Stephanie? How about a heroine with a little pluck? Is that so much to ask?

  2. I totally understand the appeal, the desire of desperate love to the adolescent heart on this one. If people can comprehend it’s just as much a fairy tale fantasy as Cinderella then no harm no foul, but I understand the arguments on the other side as well. The horror film director Phil Messerer wrote this about it: http://phillyflicks.blogspot.com/2009/04/twilight.html

    I suggest a read, it’s very poignant.

Leave a Reply

