Films A-Z

A day late, a dollar short and wearing a brand-new shirt with a food stain on it — that’s my life story and I’m sticking to it. So naturally on the heels of so many other movie bloggers, I decided to participate in the A-Z film lists.

Enjoy…

A is for “Apocalypse Now”

 

 

B is for “Blazing Saddles”

 

 

C is for “Clueless”

 

 

D is for “Dead Man Walking”

 

 

E is for “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”

 

 

F is for “The Fall”

 

 

G is for “Gojira”

 

 

H is for “Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer”

 

 

I is for “Idiocracy”

 

 

J is for “Jindabyne”

  

K is for “Key Largo”

 

 

L is for “Lars and the Real Girl”

 

 

M is for “The Maltese Falcon”

 

 

N is for “No Country for Old Men”

 

 

O is for “Out of the Past”

 

 

P is for “Plan 9 from Outer Space”

 

 

Q is for “Quills”

 

 

R is for “The Rules of Attraction”

 

 

S is for “Secretary”

 

 

T is for “12 Angry Men”

 

 

U is for “Unforgiven”

 

 

V is for “Vicky Cristina Barcelona”

  

W is for “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”

  

X is for “XXX” (a.k.a. “That Movie Where Vin Diesel Was Not Shirtless Often Enough”)

  

Y is for “Young Frankenstein”

  

Z is for “Zoolander”

5 Responses

  1. Wondered why the comments were closed when I visited previously.

    Why am I not surprised to see Idiocracy thrown in there? ;) Loved Lars and the Real Girl, I wanted to put it on my list as well but LA Confidential won the confrontation.

    • The comments were closed because WordPress was having a temper tantrum, and every time I tried to allow the comments it wouldn’t work. Grrr.

      Probably most of these aren’t too surprising, but I did try to throw in one or two that wouldn’t be obvious. “Lars and the Real Girl” is one of my favorite films that I’ve seen, oh, about 12 times since I bought it.

  2. Good list altogether, and I’m so thrilled that we matched our picks for “B” and “J”– I didn’t think anybody knew about Jindabyne except for me, so that’s exciting. Love the props for Out of the Past and The Fall, too.

    I don’t normally do the meme thing but I like ones of this variety that give writers the opportunity to really reach deep and retrieve the unexpected.

    • I can’t remember how I found out about “Jindabyne” — I think I was looking at Laura Linney’s filmography, saw “Jindabyne” and thought “Hey, I haven’t seen that.” The fact that Gabriel Byrne was in it too sealed the deal for me.

      I’ve joked with my friends that my first question for any blind date will be: “Do you think ‘Blazing Saddles’ is funny?” You’d be amazed to know that I’ve been out with several guys who said it was offensive or had just plain never seen it.

  3. Way to pick an unconventional list. Nice one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

