Real-life movie moment

The movie: “Mystery Men” (1999); dir. by Kinka Usher; starring Ben Stiller, William H. Macy, Janeane Garofalo, Hank Azaria, Paul Reubens, Geoffrey Rush, Greg Kinnear.

The moment: While shoveling piles of snow out of the driveway, I unearthed the frozen-solid corpse of a baby mouse. As I flung it off the shovel, it fell a few feet in front of the cat … who beat feet like Pete Doherty from a Narc-Anon meeting.

The correlation: I like to think that Dr. Heller would be proud of this, my discovery of the Deployment-Ready Mousenator, a new non-lethal weapon even simpler and more effective than, say, a Blamethrower.

5 Responses

  1. Dr Heller would indeed be proud, nay, inspired to whip up some new highly imaginative non-lethal weaponry!

    I actually had a Mystery Men moment today too. My boyfriend invented the “Griddler” superhero as a parody of the Riddler, and when wondering if he’d wandered onto an untapped comedy goldmine, I told him a similar character called The Waffler was already in Mystery Men. He seemed a bit disappointed.

    • Let’s see … would the Griddler use a griddle iron? And maybe speak backward? He could put an original spin on it and Dane Cook’s blink-and-he’s-gone character would evaporate from memory!

  2. haha I thought I was the only one who saw movie moments in my own life. But your device would be much more intense if it shot LIVE mice at victims!

    • The whole thing got started one day while I was walking to work and a feather — yes! a freakin’ feather! — floated down from some point above my head and landed by my foot. If it had been white, I’d have been convinced I tripped and fell into “Forrest Gump.”

  3. [...] Factoid #317 10 06 2010 Yesterday, I totally had what M. Carter calls a “Real-Life Movie Moment.” She has a whole template for describing them, so I’ll follow [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

